Still Growing and Growing and Growing

Aw, Twitter turned my harvest picture sideways.

The zucchini plants have completely succumbed to the squash vine borer, so I won’t be getting any more zucchini. The cucumber vines are also shriveling up, hit–as always–by that bacterial wilt spread by cucumber beetles. (I kept them at bay with insect barrier row cover until blooms appeared. But I don’t have a good organic solution for what to do after that.) Nevertheless, I managed to snag a couple more cucumbers today.

Of course, I’m very pleased with the harvest of broccoli side shoots that I’m getting every few days. And the wax beans are coming in very nicely, too; this is especially good since most of my green beans didn’t even germinate this year.

The tomatoes are doing better than ever I think. The plants are certainly taller/longer than ever before. They’ve grown even more since this plcture was taken about a month ago.

Towering Tomatoes!

While there were only two tomatillos in today’s harvest, I had so many already harvested that today I made another round of tomatillo salsas, both raw and roasted chipotle.  This time I put half in the freezer to see how that’ll come out.

I did catch a good shot of a hummingbird right after I took that harvest picture on my deck this morning. Every time we see one of these amazing little birds at Chez Rea, we stop whatever we’re doing to watch it.  That’s a “hummingbird break.” I have another feeder attached to my kitchen window so I get to enjoy these visits even while I’m working at the sink.

One of Today’s Visitors

About A Well Watered Garden

Rea is my last name, and Chez Rea is what we call our home and family. That’s French for the Rea House, and it rhymes. Say “shay ray” and you’re pronouncing it right.
This entry was posted in Vegetables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Still Growing and Growing and Growing

  1. Debi H. says:

    absolutely loved the hummer pic……haven’t been able to get mine that close yet.

Leave a Reply

