What’s in Bloom at Chez Rea – April 2011

I got back from my bike ride this morning (4/12/11) and took a few pictures.  Here is what’s blooming around my home, Chez Rea.

 

Daffodil Tête-à-Tête

I bought a few of these tiny daffodils one spring to put in my window boxes with some pansies.  Later I moved them to the flower bed, where they’ve been the first daffodils to bloom every year.  And since I don’t have any forsythia around here, it’s their blooms that tell me when it’s time to lay down some corn gluten (an organic pre-emergent weed control) on the lawn.  I’m very aware of this because one year I put it out too late and wound up fertilizing my weeds!  I still don’t have a perfect lawn, but I’m back to trying to stick to an organic approach to lawn care. None of my other daffodils are blooming yet.

Hyacinth

I have two little clusters of pink hyacinths, still going after, oh, five or more years.  They’re not as scrawny as I’ve seen them before, so they must like their current spot.  They started out in the front yard and later moved to the full sun bed in the backyard.  It looks like they’re blooming too early this year to use in a Mothers Day bouquet.  (Yes, Mom R., that’s why they look familiar to you.)

The vinca is on the shady side of the front yard.  Such beautiful blooms!

Vinca

Shady side of front yard

Of course, I had to take a few pictures of things that weren’t actually blooming. My chives have come up, so I snapped a picture of them to remind myself to make some Chives & Dill later today (see next post).  I also took a couple pictures of my potted rose tree which I unburied a couple days ago (on the same day I spread corn gluten over my lawn). I was so happy to see it’s still alive! I had been worried because it was bigger than my old rose tree and I did not bury it as well.

The potted rose tree I just dug up

Here is where I dug it up from.

See, it's still alive!

I have a few things blooming inside the house, too.

This is the only bloom on the Impatiens now.  More was blooming a month ago when I took a picture of it before leaving for the Flower & Garden Show (just to remind myself that I had a nice show at home).
African Violets

And that’s What’s in Bloom at Chez Rea today!

Last month's blooms on the Impatiens

About A Well Watered Garden

Rea is my last name, and Chez Rea is what we call our home and family. That’s French for the Rea House, and it rhymes. Say “shay ray” and you’re pronouncing it right.
This entry was posted in Ornamentals, What's in Bloom at Chez Rea. Bookmark the permalink.