A Mini Tomato Tasting of Mini Tomatoes

Mini Tomato Tasting 7/30/11

When I saw all the tomatoes I harvested of various varieties yesterday, I decided to hold a mini tomato tasting with my family.  I set the seven varieties, all cherry tomatoes, out on a plate and identified them by numbers.  I gave everyone some bread–for cleansing the palette between tomatoes, of course–and a piece of paper.

Here are the results of the 7/30/11 Chez Rea Mini Tomato Tasting:

  • 1st place = a tie between Sweet Millions and Sweet 100s  (It’s hard to tell those two apart.  So far the big difference this year appears to be size.  The Sweet Millions are bigger.)
  • 3rd place = Sweet Treats (the largest of this year’s cherry tomatoes)
  • 4th place = Solid Gold (probably the best tasting yellow tomato I’ve ever had)
  • 5th place = Sweet Hearts
  • 6th place = Red Pear
  • 7th place = Sprite

Please note, however, that ALL of them–even 7th place–were delicious.  I’m growing 23 different varieties of tomato this year, so stay tuned because I hope to hold another Chez Rea Tomato Tasting Party.  (The first one was about 5 years ago . . . it’s certainly about time!)

About A Well Watered Garden

Rea is my last name, and Chez Rea is what we call our home and family. That’s French for the Rea House, and it rhymes. Say “shay ray” and you’re pronouncing it right.
This entry was posted in Garden to Table Recipes, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Mini Tomato Tasting of Mini Tomatoes

  1. Brenda says:

    Definitely let me know when you plan to hold another tomato tasting!! I’m there! 🙂

    Like

  2. pawtricia says:

    This page looks great. Love hearing about “the tomato”!
    I had an awful tomato today in Coldwater, MI.

    Like

  3. Pingback: TOMATO TASTING 2011 | A Well Watered Garden

Leave a Reply

