A Morning Lost in the Garden (and Lawn)

A bit of harvesting was all I planned to do in the garden when I got back from my bike ride this morning.  But the weather was good, and I kept seeing more to do.  So this is what I did:

1. I harvested green beans (and a few wax beans) and tomatoes.  The beans have been coming in nicely for the past couple weeks, and I’ve already frozen several pounds.  Those green tomatoes I picked ARE ripe; they are Green Zebra tomatoes.

Harvest 9/12/11

2. While I was harvesting the tomatoes, I also trimmed off all the yellow and spotted leaves (collected in the bucket on the left).  I use the rubbing alcohol to spray the clippers between plants so that I’m not spreading disease from plant to plant.

3. Then I sprayed the tomato plants with Serenade (Bacillus subtilis) to help fight off the disease.  The plants are doing better this year, and several are taller than I am.

The tomato plants are doing very well this year.

4.  Lastly, I actually did something for the lawn, the most neglected part of our yard.  I sprayed Weed-B-Gon on the weeds in the front lawn and most of the backyard.  (I’m on my way back to organic lawn care.  I use corn gluten as a pre-emergent weed control, and the plan is to stay organic after I finish off our current supply of non-organic weed killers.)  This took a lot of bending and a lot of squeezing the trigger on the spray bottle–great for my tennis grip, but I don’t play tennis anymore!  And that’s where my morning went.  It was 12:30 when I stopped.

About A Well Watered Garden

Rea is my last name, and Chez Rea is what we call our home and family. That’s French for the Rea House, and it rhymes. Say “shay ray” and you’re pronouncing it right.
This entry was posted in Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Morning Lost in the Garden (and Lawn)

  1. Pingback: 2015 Kitchen Garden Photos | A Well Watered Garden

Leave a Reply

