2011 Ketchup Soup – SEPTEMBER

I don’t think anyone out there is starving due to lack of posts from me, but for the sake of any new readers who turn up here as a result of the 2011 Chez Rea Annual Letter as well as for my own sake in keeping an accurate garden journal, I shall now CATCH UP on all the garden events I missed posting about during the last few months of 2011.

SEPTEMBER

Master Gardener Activity

A week after the Tomato Tasting, I helped a couple other master gardeners man our table at the Homer Glen Harvest Days

Flourishing Plants

I had better success with growing peppers this year. I had bought two patio pepper plants from Woldhuis in May and put them in pots along my driveway.

Cheyenne Hot Pepper

Redskin Sweet Pepper

Fizzling Plants

Meanwhile the cucumbers had fizzled out. I've already bought light weight row cover in hopes of protecting them from cucumber beetles next year.

I did the 3rd or 4th round of deadheading the purple verbena and other flowers. Planting one basket of verbena in a large pot worked very well--worth repeating!

For more information about deadheading, see my Flower Power post from earlier in September.

Hot Tomatoes

We enjoyed our tomatoes all through their season, both before and after the Tomato Tasting party. We popped the cherry tomatoes into our mouths like candy, and I made plenty of salsa, bruschetta, and insalata caprese. It was wonderful! The downside, however, was that I was not able to make freeze very much tomato sauce for the winter. I did try something different this year, however: I made my tomato sauce in a slow cooker.

Eating them FRESH--that's the best way to go with summer tomatoes, especially those cherry-size ones!

By the way, I grew two green varieties of tomato this year (so those pictured above ARE ripe): Green Zebra and Green Emerald.

A BLT is another great way to eat fresh homegrown tomatoes.

BLT Ingredients - The L and the T are fresh from the garden!

Getting Ready to Make Tomato Sauce

Making Tomato Sauce in the Slow Cooker

First Steps of the Plant Dance

I had to go out of town at the end of September and beginning of October, so I brought a few of my potted plants inside–just a few, those that I was most worried about should the outside temperatures drop too much while I was gone.  My family calls this the return of The Jungle. I call it the Plant Dance as I usually move plants back and forth, inside and outside, upstairs and downstairs several times during the course of getting them settled inside before winter (or outside before summer).

Some of my houseplants in their summer home, the front porch

I think it's a good idea to spray the plants with water and sometimes insecticidal soap before bringing them inside.

The Jungle enters my kitchen.

Later I moved different parts of The Jungle to other rooms, such as the living room.

Meanwhile, my master gardener friend Donna Hirsch wrote an excellent article for our garden club newsletter about bringing houseplants inside: Houseplants Return Home! Her methods are much more thorough than mine, and I did follow some of them the following month when I brought in more plants from my deck.

 

About A Well Watered Garden

Rea is my last name, and Chez Rea is what we call our home and family. That’s French for the Rea House, and it rhymes. Say “shay ray” and you’re pronouncing it right.
This entry was posted in Containers, Garden to Table Recipes, Houseplants, Master Gardeners, Tips and Tools, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2011 Ketchup Soup – SEPTEMBER

  1. Pingback: I ♥ Gardening | A Well Watered Garden

  2. Pingback: Broccoli Babies and More | A Well Watered Garden

  3. Pingback: Weather Warnings | A Well Watered Garden

Leave a Reply

