2011 Ketchup Soup – NOVEMBER

Part 3 of 2011 Ketchup Soup

NOVEMBER

November was surprisingly warm in our area this year, so I did not get the Kitchen Garden fully put to bed by the end of the month. Instead, I mostly worked on ways to use and preserve and the last bits of goodness from my end of the season harvest. I also went on a house walk which gave me some lovely ideas for using items from my garden and yard to decorate the inside of the house.

Garlic

This year I was successful in growing garlic. I had gotten a head of Russian Red garlic from my master gardener friend Gary and planted its seven cloves in my herb bed last October.  My heads of garlic did not grow as big as Gary’s (perhaps because I had left their flowers on until after the garden walk), but they did grow. I saved and planted another 14 cloves around my herb bed at the end of this October. We had such nice weather that I thought I’d see them sending up shoots withing a few weeks; however, they did not, so I wonder how/if they will grow this year. This year I gave them more organic matter (compost and worm castings) than I had last year; I also covered them with some straw in December. Next year I should plant the garlic earlier, in late September or early October.

Garlic Flowers Wafting above the Herb Bed - 7/22/11

Meanwhile, I enjoyed using the rest of the Russian Red garlic I had harvested to make several of my favorite dishes: Eggplant-Garlic Spread, Moroccan Lentil Soup, and Argentinean Chimichurri Sauce.

Eggplant-Garlic Spread

I combined some of my garlic with eggplant and olive oil to make Eggplant-Garlic Spread. We ate it with pita chips as we enjoyed an evening by the fire pit on the deck.

Baking Eggplant-Garlic Spread on a silicone mat in the oven

Moroccan Lentil Soup

I used garlic, pepper and onions from my garden along with more eggplant and other ingredients to make a large batch of Moroccan Lentil Soup, one of my favorites.

Chez Rea Garden Ingredients for Morroccan Lentil Soup

Morroccan Lentil Soup

Chimichurri Sauce

I had several parsley plants, both Italian and curly, this year. I harvested all I could before my next frost alert in November and used it along with my garlic and other ingredients from my garden to make a big batch of chimichurri sauce. I froze most of it to use later in the winter months. Why not? I freeze the pesto I make from basil.

What to do with all this parsley from my garden?

Add other herbs, garlic, and onion from my garden, plus olive oil and red wine vinegar.

And make chimichurri sauce!

Fall Clean Up

During the last week of November, I took advantage of the nice weather we were having to do some more garden clean up and switch my front yard and deck from their fall plantings to their winter décor.

I pulled up everything from the vegetable beds.

I drained and unhooked the rain barrels.

It's time to take out the mums and pumpkins in the front yard.

And the deck is ready to switch from fall to winter, too.

The Saturday after Thanksgiving, when I cleaned and “redecorated” the deck turned out to be a bit rainy. But at least I wasn’t freezing!

Christmas Decorating on the Deck - 11/26/11

Here’s a peek at how it turned out:

First Snow 12/9/11

 

About A Well Watered Garden

Rea is my last name, and Chez Rea is what we call our home and family. That’s French for the Rea House, and it rhymes. Say “shay ray” and you’re pronouncing it right.
This entry was posted in Containers, Garden to Table Recipes, Herbs & Edible Flowers, Ornamentals, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

