2011 Ketchup Soup – DECEMBER

Part 4 of 2011 Ketchup Soup

DECEMBER

We got a little dusting of snow after the first week into December, but it melted quickly and the rest of the month remained unusually warm for our area.

First Snow - 12/9/11

Goodbye, Tomatoes

Remember those green tomatoes I harvested at the end of October? Well, a few of them got mushy, but most of them slowly got their color sitting inside that newspaper lined box in the basement. They didn’t taste as good as if they had ripened outside on the plants, of course; however, they were still better than store bought tomatoes.  It helped, too, that I could use them with my fresh herbs or frozen pesto.  And that is how I used the last of them up in December: I made one last round of bruschetta with tomatoes and pesto from the garden.

Topping Ingredients for the Last Garden Bruschetta

Putting the Garden to Bed at Last

Just before that bit of snow came, my sweet husband had the time and opportunity to pick up some free composted organic horse manure and manually till it into the vegetable beds.  I love him!

Then we covered those beds with black plastic.

The black plastic keeps the soil warmer and drier so it will be ready to work sooner in the spring.

Overwintering the Rose Tree

Meanwhile, I got my rose tree ready to bury under a foot or so of mulch. This method kept my old rose tree alive for at least seven years, and this tree, a Pink Knockout standard, is going into its second winter.

We dug a hole for pot and for the head of the rose tree.

And then I covered it with landscape fabric and mulch.

Straw for the Strawberries (and Garlic, Too)

I bought a bale of straw and used half of it to cover the strawberry bed and the garlic I had planted in the herb bed.

Strawberry Bed under Straw

Garlic under Straw

Refilling the Compost Bin

I took the finished compost from the compost bin and spread it around the raspberry bed. Then we used the lawnmower-shredded leaves and grass clippings plus more horse manure to refill the bin.

Ready to Refill the Compost Bin

Compost Bin Refilled

GOODNIGHT, GARDEN!

Ready for Next Year!

A Gardener's Christmas Present - My husband got me a hori-hori knife!

Merry Christmas!

About A Well Watered Garden

Rea is my last name, and Chez Rea is what we call our home and family. That’s French for the Rea House, and it rhymes. Say “shay ray” and you’re pronouncing it right.
This entry was posted in Containers, Fruit, Garden to Table Recipes, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2011 Ketchup Soup – DECEMBER

  1. Pingback: Cool Stuff Is Out There! | A Well Watered Garden

Leave a Reply

