What’s in Bloom at Chez Rea – April 2012

Lungwort closeup

Front Yard

The vinca and leukojums are still going strong, and now the lungwort has reached full bloom.

Front Yard Blooms 4/2/12

I really love the leucojums. These were not part of the original planting plan for my front yard, but I’m quite happy with where I placed them behind the dwarf junipers. They were the “Bulb of the Year”  for my garden club a few years ago, and they have become my favorite since they are thriving so well here.  Also, they look a little like giant lilies-of-the-valley, which is the flower of May, the month I was born.

Leucojum 4/2/12

Lungwort 4/2/12 - Mine is Pulmonaria 'Raspberry Splash' from Ted's Nursery.

The lamium, which I got from my friend Donna, has also started blooming. 4/2/12

Back Yard

Did I say it was April? I must have meant May! Yes, the lilac is already blooming. We had an unusually warm winter now followed by an unusually warm spring, so many things have bloomed a month ahead of schedule. This lilac is from my friend April (ah, no wonder it’s blooming now!), and my husband has been helping me to prune it into proper shape over the last couple years–ever since I learned how to prune lilac and other multi-stemmed shrubs when I was taking the Master Gardener course.

Lilac 4/7/12

Meanwhile, the bleeding heart was in full swing on the other side of the arbor, and another daffodil began to bloom. Most of my daffodils, by the way, were also bought from my garden club as the “Bulb of Year.”

Bleeding Heart 4/7/12

Narcissus 'Pheasant's Eye' 4/17/12

About A Well Watered Garden

Rea is my last name, and Chez Rea is what we call our home and family. That’s French for the Rea House, and it rhymes. Say “shay ray” and you’re pronouncing it right.
This entry was posted in Ornamentals, What's in Bloom at Chez Rea. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

