All in a Day’s Harvest

Strawberries, Raspberries, and Snow Peas – 6/4/12

This is what I harvested this morning:

  • about a pint of raspberries
  • 12 ounces snow peas
  • almost a quart of strawberries

And this is what became of them:

  • We ate the fresh raspberries with lunch.
  • I used the snow peas plus green onions and garlic chives from the garden to make a beef and snow peas stir fry for dinner.
  • I used most of the strawberries to make HOMEMADE STRAWBERRY ICE CREAM for dessert–yummy!

Homemade Strawberry Ice Cream

I used this eggless recipe that I had tried last year: Easy, Eggless Strawberry Ice Cream. This time, however, I substituted organic half-and-half for the whole milk and  heavy cream. I also used just one teaspoon of Penzey’s double-strength vanilla. This was a great way for all of us to enjoy the taste of my fresh organic strawberries: the strawberry flavor came out clear and strong.

That recipe just fits into my 2-quart ice cream maker, which I bought at a thrift store. I like it because I don’t have to pre-freeze the container and because it uses regular ice cubes and table salt.  And it makes four very generous servings. We ate it all!

Making Strawberry Ice Cream

I hope I’ll get around to making ice cream more often this year.  I say that every year!  But usually after making the effort once or twice, I resort to store bought stuff. I was pleased with the ease, price, and results of using the organic half-and-half tonight, however, so maybe this year I WILL do it more.

About A Well Watered Garden

Rea is my last name, and Chez Rea is what we call our home and family. That’s French for the Rea House, and it rhymes. Say “shay ray” and you’re pronouncing it right.
This entry was posted in Garden to Table Recipes, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

