Falling with Style

Best Fall Ever

Summer may be my favorite season, but this fall–2012–is my favorite fall ever.

Hiking around Starved Rock – 10/8/12

For one thing, the beautiful colors have lasted longer here than usual. Usually it seems like autumn comes and goes in about two days, but we’ve been enjoying vibrant foliage and pretty good weather for several weeks now.  Perhaps I’ve been more aware of that because my family went to Starved Rock State Park on Columbus Day. It was my first time there, and it was a perfect day. The weather was sunny and cool, and several trees had already put on their fall fashions.

Fall in the Front Yard Garden – 10/25/12

Perhaps I’m more aware of this year’s fall colors because my own front yard garden is displaying them wonderfully, from the bright red burning bush on the north side (left of house) to the deep reds of the dwarf oakleaf hydrangea at the southern edge (right side). I don’t think I’ve ever seen the leaves on that hydrangea turn so beautifully. (I should press and dry some!) It looks great with the purple dome aster blooming by it, and the miscanthus has finally put some plumes up behind them. Meanwhile, the roses and Rosanne geraniums are still blooming away in other parts of the garden because we have not been hit by a hard frost yet.

Best Fall Containers Ever

As early frosts come and go, I keep rearranging the containers on the deck to keep the best looking summer ones out as long as I can. 10/1/12

Another reason this is the best fall ever is that I have the best fall containers ever, too. I used to think that changing container plantings with the seasons would cost too much time and money. However, I have found that changing just a few makes a great impact because I spend so much time viewing the deck from our kitchen as I work as well as enjoying the occasional evening by the fire out there.

View from kitchen door – 10/15/12

Ready for a relaxing evening! – 9/27/12

I have also discovered how to get a lot of bang for the buck on those container plantings. The four large ornamental kale started out as a $1 cell-pack that I bought in the spring. I planted them in the four corners of a salad bed in the garden, and look what was ready to transplant into my containers this fall–for just 25 cents each!

I transplanted this kale from the kitchen garden into its own container on the deck. The other three, two purple and one white, were combined with mums in other containers. 9/28/12

I also discovered a good source for nice BIG mums a few years ago when I happened to be working at the master gardener office on the day of the Farm Bureau‘s fall flower sale. These shrub-size beauties, which they get from Sunrise Greenhouse, sell for just $7 apiece. This year I got three in three different colors: orange, purple, and yellow.

The purple mum got its own container on the deck.

I put the yellow mum in a large container on the deck with two purple kale and a couple other transplants from the kitchen garden, some marigolds and amaranthus.

My favorite container is in the front yard. I combined the orange mum with white kale and added asparagus fern for filler/spiller.

Summer has not left me. It’s just falling with style!

About A Well Watered Garden

Rea is my last name, and Chez Rea is what we call our home and family. That’s French for the Rea House, and it rhymes. Say “shay ray” and you’re pronouncing it right.
This entry was posted in Containers, Ornamentals, What's in Bloom at Chez Rea. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

