I SHALL grow SHALLOTS

Now that the shallots have come up, I uncovered the seed tray and put it in the light.

Now that the shallots have come up, I uncovered the seed tray and put it in the light.

Look what came up yesterday! It’s the shallots I planted on the same day I started pansies (as recorded in my last post).

Seed trays parked by the heat vent - 1/9/15

Seed trays parked by the heat vent – 1/9/15

Instead of putting the onion and shallot seeds on a heat mat, I just parked them in front of one of our heat vents.  I decided to do that after consulting the chart of days to appearance of seedlings at various soil temperatures (on second page here) which said onion seeds sprout 5 days after sowing if the soil is at 68 degrees, 4 days at 75 or 86 degrees.  It looks like my shallot seeds hit that pretty close: they came up  5-1/2 days after planting.

Jan 2014 011

The pansy seedlings let stay covered too long last year – 1/22/14

These

I brought this container of pang seed trays inside on 1/14/15.

 

 

Seeing the shallots sprout reminded me to bring the trays of pansy seeds inside from the garage. Now I need to be vigilant about checking daily under the black plastic covering them. I need to move them into the light as soon as they sprout, or they’ll become too leggy as they did last year.

I haven’t seen anything in the onion seed tray yet, but those seeds are older and may not come up at all. It doesn’t matter–onions are easier to grow from onion sets anyway. I’m just giving it a try because someone gave me those seeds.

 

 

About A Well Watered Garden

Rea is my last name, and Chez Rea is what we call our home and family. That’s French for the Rea House, and it rhymes. Say “shay ray” and you’re pronouncing it right.
This entry was posted in Seed Starting and Plant Propagation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I SHALL grow SHALLOTS

  1. Pingback: Cool Stuff Is Out There! | A Well Watered Garden

Leave a Reply

