Winter Weather Report 2015

RAIN on the First Day of Winter 2015

RAIN on the First Day of Winter 2015

It’s the first day of winter, 12/21/15, and we had 0.64″ of RAIN at this CoCoRaHS station this morning.

Because of how mild the weather has been, I STILL HAVE KALE IN THE GARDEN! In fact, I harvested some a few days ago and used it in my favorite spinach salad recipe. I’ve been making this salad since 1993, when I first got the recipe from a sweet friend at church, Ruby Spencer. I altered the dressing recipe a bit (a little less oil and sugar) back then to make it healthier. Of course, I also have a tendency to use more eggs and bacon than the recipe actually calls for, so it’s not really healthier–I just feel better about it. However it’s made,  it has been a favorite at MANY family gatherings and potlucks over the years.

When I made it with kale for the first time this last weekend, I massaged a bit of olive oil into the kale to soften it a few hours before assembling the salad and used a little less canola oil in the dressing. (I’ve also used a combination of sugar cane vinegar and apple juice in place of the apple cider vinegar.) What a wonderful and delicious way to use my winter kale!

Chez Rea Spinach (or Kale) Salad

Serves 8 (May double for a large salad.)

SALAD:

1 bag spinach, raw

1/4 pound bacon, fried & crumbled

2 whole eggs, hard-boiled, sliced

1/2 whole red Bermuda onion, sliced

1/2 pound mushrooms, sliced

 

DRESSING:

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1/2 cup oil

1 teaspoon salt [I substitute a salt-free blend of herbs.]

1/4 cup catsup

3/8 cup sugar

 

DIRECTIONS:

Shake the dressing, and toss everything together.

NOTE: Whenever I transport this salad somewhere, I put the bacon bits in a little baggie, the rest of the ingredients in a covered bowl, and the dressing in a shaker container. Then I mix everything before serving so the salad is not too soggy.

 

 

About A Well Watered Garden

Rea is my last name, and Chez Rea is what we call our home and family. That’s French for the Rea House, and it rhymes. Say “shay ray” and you’re pronouncing it right.
This entry was posted in Garden to Table Recipes, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

