Free Tree

A Free Arbor Day Tree Seedling - 4/29/16

A Free Arbor Day Tree Seedling – 4/29/16

FREE TREE Giveaway!

That’s right–this casual blogger is doing a casual giveaway. By “casual giveaway” I mean that I’m just offering to share some of the free trees I got at the tollway oasis today (courtesy of The Morton Arboretum and The Illinois Tollway) with my LOCAL subscribers. I am not going to ship or deliver anything to the winners, so don’t enter unless you could come by and pick it up next week if you win a tree.

Here’s how to enter:

If  you are not a subscriber to this blog:

  1. Subscribe by clicking on the subscribe button in the upper right corner of this page and entering your email address.
  2. After you have subscribed, leave a comment below this post that says “just now” and say how you heard about this giveaway.

If you are a subscriber to this blog:

Leave a comment below this post that says “already amazing” if you had already subscribed to this blog (before 4/29/16). That’s all that is required for one regular entry!

For a bonus entry:

Share this giveaway publicly on Facebook by following the directions there.

RULES:

The limit is one regular entry and one bonus entry per subscriber to The Well Watered Garden blog. The deadline for submitting entries is midnight on Monday, 5/2/16. Winners will be randomly selected on Tuesday, 5/3/16, and must pick up their trees from Chez Rea as soon as possible.

Here is the information I received along with the trees.

Plant a Tree on Arbor Day Information

Plant a Tree on Arbor Day Information

Happy Arbor Day!

Tree Giveaway Update 5/5/16

I’ve already given away 3 trees and have sent emails to 3 more people who responded both here and on Facebook.  By the way for anyone interested, I also have raspberry plants available from my kitchen garden–several are coming up in the paths. Or how about miscanthus? Mine has donuted.  I need help digging it up though–it’s huge!–and then I could separate and give away several.

Natives for Illinois

In the meantime, I’m going to post the links that I shared with the recipients of the trees. These are my two best sources of information for choosing plants native to Illinois.

Illinois Wildflowers

Possibility Place (plant finder)

Trees for My Garden

For my own tree planting adventures, I potted up the Asian pear trees I grafted at this year’s Midwest Fruit Explorers grafting workshop. Six of the eight grafts I tried showed signs of life, and it looks like four of them have growth above the grafts.  I plan to let these trees grow in the pots for a while and then plant them in my back yard in early fall.

Asian Pear Tree Grafts - 2016

Asian Pear Tree Grafts – 2016

IMG_0991 IMG_0992

About A Well Watered Garden

Rea is my last name, and Chez Rea is what we call our home and family. That’s French for the Rea House, and it rhymes. Say “shay ray” and you’re pronouncing it right.
This entry was posted in Fruit, Ornamentals. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Free Tree

  1. Stan Rea says:

    Already amazing!

    Like

  2. Debi Haring says:

    Already amazing!!

    Like

  3. I have raspberry plants available, too! Several are growing in my kitchen garden’s paths and need to be pulled out.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Happy Arbor Day! | A Well Watered Garden

Leave a Reply

