Talk It Up

Shakespeare Picnic - 7/20/16

Shakespeare Picnic – 7/20/16

Summer is in full swing here at Chez Rea, and that means that I’m harvesting and using edible flowers (I just love edible flowers!) as well as vegetables, herbs, and fruit from my garden. Do you wish you could do the same? You can! Come and hear how–I’m giving two gardening talks NEXT WEEK.

  • Edible Flowers–They’re Incredible! Monday, July 25, 2016, at the Palos Heights Garden Club, 7 P.M., in Lake Katherine‘s Brigid O’Malley Auditorium. Debbie Rea will talk about growing and using edible flowers–something she has enjoyed doing for over 15 years. She will share which ones she has found to be the easiest to grow and her favorite ways to use them. Come and find out how to amaze and delight your guests with some incredible edible flowers. ($5 guest fee–no registration required, just show up)
  • Organic Kitchen Garden Maintenance Saturday, July 30, 2016, at the Homer Township Public Library, 11 A.M. Avid gardener Debbie Rea will share how she maintains an organic kitchen garden here in Homer Glen from year to year, her favorite methods for planting, watering, feeding, and putting the garden to bed and how she deals with problems such as pests, diseases, and weeds. (Free–registration available by phone, 708-301-7908, or online).

Here’s what I’ve made this last week.

By the way, I’ve already posted the recipe for that wonderful homemade pickle you see in the Shakespeare picnic picture above.  It’s a long time family favorite that my mom always made with cucumbers from my dad’s garden.

7/25/16 UPDATE:

I cannot always do this when I give my edible flowers talk, but I went out this morning and picked a bunch of live samples to bring when I give my presentation tonight.

About A Well Watered Garden

Rea is my last name, and Chez Rea is what we call our home and family. That’s French for the Rea House, and it rhymes. Say “shay ray” and you’re pronouncing it right.
This entry was posted in Fruit, Garden Talks and Shows, Herbs & Edible Flowers, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

