Happy Arbor Day!

Free Tree Follow Up

The Illinois Tollway gave away free trees again for Arbor Day, plus native wildflower seeds. I did not get any this year, but I did follow up on the trees I gave away last year. The one that went to Debi H. is doing great.

Red Oak Seedling – photo by Debi H.  – 4/27/17

Red Oak Seedling – photo by Debi H.  – 4/27/17

This is a red oak. It is fenced in to protect it from animals. Isn’t it beautiful–Debi is taking good care of this baby tree!

New Trees for Chez Rea

Once again I got some rootstock and scions from the Midwest Fruit Explorers and grafted fruit trees–Asian pears and apples. I’m thrilled to report that most of them have started growing above the grafts, which means those grafts took. Next I will plant these in 1-gallon pots and let them grow in a protected area through the summer. I need to decide where to plant these trees. Yes, I will call JULIE before we dig!

How about you? Are you going to plant any trees this year? Let me know in the comments below.

About A Well Watered Garden

Rea is my last name, and Chez Rea is what we call our home and family. That’s French for the Rea House, and it rhymes. Say “shay ray” and you’re pronouncing it right.
This entry was posted in Fruit, Ornamentals, Seed Starting and Plant Propagation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

